

Contact: Craig Burford
Executive Director
Ohio ESC Association (OESCA)
burford@oesca.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Ohio ESC Association Awards Presented to Educational and Community Leaders at Award and Recognition Program

Columbus, Ohio – On Monday, November 13, 2023, the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) recognized 23 educational and community leaders from across the state for their commitment and dedication to their local communities, educational service centers and Ohio's K-12 education system.

The awards were presented at the 37th Annual Ohio ESC Association Awards and Recognition Program, which is held in conjunction with the Ohio School Board Association's annual Capital Conference. The recognition program was developed in 1985 to recognize outstanding educational service center (ESC) and school district board members and community leaders. Over the past 37 years, OESCA has recognized more than 1,280 board members, educators and community leaders.

This year's award recipients include ESC and district board members, state agencies, ESC staff, State Representative Jay Edwards and other community leaders.

"This program demonstrates how Ohio's 51 Educational Service Centers bring together exemplary leaders, community resources, business, industry and government to better serve Ohio school districts and students," stated OESCA Executive Director Craig Burford. "The awards are a way ESCs recognize and thank those they work with who have provided outstanding service to the education community."

The <u>OESCA Award program</u>, which includes award categories and definitions and full recipient information, is available on the OESCA website (<u>www.oesca.org</u> -> Awards -> <u>OESCA Awards</u>). Also on the website: links to recipient photographs.

Ohio's educational service centers (ESCs) provide school districts with professional development, technology, support, planning, and administrative services that help improve student learning, enhance the quality of instruction, expand access to resources, and maximize operating/fiscal efficiencies. The Ohio ESC Association (OESCA) supports, educates and advocates for Ohio's ESCs. www.oesca.org

###

2023 Ohio Educational Service Center Association Award Recipients

Nominating ESC	Award Recipient	Award
Brown County ESC	Ohio Means Jobs - Adams and Brown	Outstanding Leadership Award -
	County offices	Community
Clark County ESC	Leslie Crew, Clark County Family & Children First Council	Torch Award
Columbiana County ESC	Columbiana County Mental Health & Recovery Services Board	Outstanding Leadership Award - Community
Columbiana County ESC	Columbiana County Port Authority	Outstanding Leadership Award - Community
Columbiana County ESC	Anna Marie Vaughn	Carol E. Austin Lifetime Achievement Award
ESC of Eastern Ohio	Duane Piccirilli, Mahoning County Mental Health & Recovery Board	Outstanding Leadership Award - Community
ESC of Eastern Ohio	Ryan Tekac, Mahoning County Health Commissioner	Outstanding Leadership Award - Community
ESC of Eastern Ohio	Susan Kovach, Deputy Director of Community Health	Outstanding Leadership Award - Community
ESC of Eastern Ohio	Kathi McNabb Welsh, Attorney & ESC Governing Board member	Distinguished Service Award
ESC of Eastern Ohio	Emily Young, America Makes Education & Workforce Development Coordinator	Torch Award
Fairfield County ESC	Rick Szrabrak, Fairfield County Director of Economic & Workforce Development	Outstanding Leadership Award - Community
Fairfield County ESC	Angela Krile, Krile Communications	Torch Award
Hamilton County ESC	Michael Harlow, Hamilton County Board of Elections	Outstanding Leadership Award – ESC Governing Board Member
Lawrence County ESC	Jeff Saunders	Carol E. Austin Lifetime Achievement Award
Muskingum Valley ESC	State Representative Jay Edwards	Legislative Leadership Award
Muskingum Valley ESC	Judge Luann Cooperrider	Outstanding Leadership Award - Community
Muskingum Valley ESC	Dr. Richard Hall	Torch Award
Muskingum Valley ESC	Homer Weekley	Torch Award
North Central Ohio ESC	Lori Lowe	Teamwork Award
Summit ESC	Stephen Miller	Torch Award
Summit ESC	Andrea Patt	Torch Award
Summit ESC	Dr. Missi Zender-Sakach	Torch Award
Warren County ESC	Pam Tone	Lifetime Achievement Award